Monday, August 22, 2011

The right way to eradicate corruption???


        Anna Hazare has been the talk of the town in recent times and understandably so!! The man is trying to, I repeat trying to eradicate one of the gravest and worst menaces that can hinder a country's growth big-time. Yes he is trying to fight corruption!!  But how?  He is trying to bring in the Jan Lok Pal Bill! He wants the government to pass it in the parliament so that the culprits are prosecuted and justice be done to all.
To be Frank how many of the people who support Anna knows about this Jan Lok pal bill? I don’t think even 50% of them know about it completely. They support Anna because he is doing something against corruption and Corruption is a known evil for everyone. The Kind of Scams we are witnessing, the common man's rage will raise. He will want justice. And when Anna attempts it, naturally everyone is bound to support him. They don’t even care what the Jan Lok Pal is!!
           To me, yes I want the Jan Lok Pal to be passed. But will it address the issue COMPLETELY? The answer is a sad NO! I support hazare. I want the bill to be passed. But at the same time I also want corruption to be eradicated completely!! One of my relatives said Anna's approach is a Top down Approach and the real need of the hour is a Bottom-Up approach. Yes we have to get back to our old ancient ways!!
           Okay, how many of us are having original software installed in our Personal computer or our laptops? It would not even be close to 10%. It includes me, everyone. How many of us don’t try to evade tax while registering lands? It would be not even 5%.We ourselves are not proper. Every government office has officers who are corrupt even at the lowest of levels. These are just one or two of the many instances.  When our own backyard is unclean how can we try to clean the streets? As much as the bribe taker is to be punished, the bribe payer should be blamed too.
           The law only addresses what happens to a person after corruption takes place. It cannot prevent him from being corrupt. For that to happen the very mind set of the people has to change. Great Ideas and Good principles must be propagated. People should be more honest and more reforms must take place.
Well I am not giving solution to the problem. I am just stating it here. I am not writing this post to argue against someone nor am I expressing my views against Anna. I am the very common man whose blood boiled at the very mention of the amount looted in the 2G scam, the CWG or the amount of black money in foreign lands. I want the society to change as a whole for which each and every individual must change himself. We must also understand that a perfect society is always in the making and never made. 
                

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

49-O and the difference it can make!!

       Hey all many states are going to polls today and i am just back after exercising my democratic right.
Coming to the point i just said "I VOTE FOR NOBODY" and used 49-O provision and voted for nobody. The steps are very simple.
1. Have your the required ID card. ( Get the booth slip if possible would make life easy for the agents)
2. Say to the officer " I VOTE NOBODY". I am not interested in voting. 
IF the officer agrees
3. Sign the register.  The agent will write 49-O in the remarks column and the make a mark in the list.
 DONE. Thats it.
 Why the "IF" ??
      In my case the agent asked me WHY? yu want to use 49-O and i naturally replied i am not interested. Then he briefed me about the procedures he has to go through if someone opted for 49-O. Seems he has to fill in a form or two.  He asked me not to vote and go back. He assured me that no one else would vote in my name and he can guarantee that. I told him i need to register my vote and in the end he reluctantly agreed.
      In the end i put my signature against my name where 49-O was written clearly in the Remarks column. I had a sense of achievement in me. I wonder why!!
      I am not blaming the polling officer. It is understandable from his point. If only the govt makes the procedures simple enough. The other thing is every one in the polling booth will know that I am opting for 49-O. It is public. No more a Secret.
     The advantage of 49-O is that if a candidate wins by 300 votes and there are 300 people who have opted for 49-O then his win is ruled out. I really feel this could make a huge difference if only we can spread awareness about this.